Friday, 6 November 2009

Phases of the Moon (Science) (Elementary)

The moon is Earth's only natural satellite, and is the brightest object in the sky at night. However, the moon itself has no light, but because it reflects light from the sun, it appears as though it has.

As the moon orbits around the Earth, it seems to change its shape. It appears to change from a bright full circle to a crescent, then to complete darkness, and back to a crescent again. This is because we can only see the part of the moon that is lit by the sun.

The different appearances of the moon is known as phases. The moon takes about a month to go around the Earth and, during this time, we can identify eight distinct phases. These phases are named after how much of the moon we can see, and whether the amount visible is increasing, or decreasing each day: New Moon, Waxing (increasing) Crescent, First Quarter, Waxing Gibbous, Full Moon, Waning (decreasing) Gibbous, Last Quarter, and Waning Crescent.

Click on the image below to see the moon in all its phases.

Games for Education, 游戏学英语

When you've learn the different phases of the moon, test yourself in a game by clicking on the image below. Please report your score (the % you got and the time taken) in the comments section below. Don't forget to include your name and school!

Games for Education, 游戏学英语

If you like this game, please link to it by copying and pasting this HTML code (click anywhere inside the box, click ctrl+A, then ctrl+C) into your own blog or web template. This is the badge you'll get:

Games for Education


  1. <span style="color: #808080;">Interesting  and educational.</span>

  2. <span style="color: #808080;">¿En qué estás pensando...?i'm builder,builder,..</span>

  3. Yes, ok, to what, Jennifer??? *DONT_KNOW* =-O

  4. <span style="color: #808080;">Interesting  and educational.</span>


Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.